*NAA (2004 – 2008)
The National Assessment Agency. Tasked with developing and delivering high-quality national curriculum tests and supervising the delivery and modernisation of general examinations. Replaced by QCDA in 2008.

*NAA Field Support Officers or Centre Support Officers
Regionally based teams that provided on-the-spot support and advice to Exams Officers and Centres and acted as the promotional service for the government Diploma Programme.

NASUWT (teaching union)
National Association of Schoolmasters and Union of Women Teachers. Union representing teachers and headteachers throughout the UK.

National Agreement on Raising Standards and Tackling Workload
Targets a progressive reduction in teachers’ overall hours by removing administrative and clerical tasks, like those of the exams office, from their routine. Signed by the Government, employers and school workforce unions.

National Education Union (NEU)
In 2017 the ATL joined with the National Union of Teachers to form the NEU with the first joint conference to be held in 2019. This is the biggest teaching union in the country to which the EOA is affiliated.

National Occupational Standards
Standards of occupational competence developed by a standards-setting body and approved by the regulatory authorities.

Non Examined Assessment or Non External Assessment – replacing coursework or controlled assessment format.

The National College of School Leadership. Provides career-long learning and development opportunities for England’s existing and aspiring school leaders.

Notices to Centres
Issued by JCQ to inform Centres of key information regarding dates and procedures common to all the awarding organisations. Issued in September. These may also be issued by awarding organisations..

NQF (now Qualifications and Credit Framework)
National Qualifications Framework. The framework for qualifications available in England, Wales and Northern Ireland. Designed to organise and ensure the quality of general, vocational and occupational qualifications. From September 2004, a nine-level framework including entry level.

NUT (see NEU)
The National Union of Teachers was founded as the National Union of Elementary Teachers (NUET) for all teachers in England and Wales in June 1870, the year that Forster’s Education Act set up elected local school boards to build elementary schools. In 1888 it became the National Union of Teachers. From 400 members when it was founded, the NUT grew rapidly. Between 1895 and 1910 it doubled in size to become a substantial union with 68,000 members in 516 local associations.

National Vocational Qualification. Qualifications that reflect the skills, knowledge and understanding an individual possesses in relation to a specific area of work.