GCE (A levels)
The General Certificate of Education. This qualification is aimed at post-16 candidates but there are no age restrictions on entry.

General Certificates of Secondary Education are the main school-leaving qualification in England. They are available in a range of subjects and can be studied alongside other qualifications. They are generally sat by 15- to 18-year-olds in schools and colleges but are open to anyone who wants to gain a qualification.

GCSE in Applied subjects 
Eight vocationally orientated subjects available since 2002. They are GCSE double awards (ie. twice the size of a single academic GCSE) and were introduced to replace part 1 GNVQ qualifications.

General qualifications (GQs) 
Covered by the General Regulation for Approved Centres (known as the Blue book) Broadly, these are GCE and GCSE qualificatuions.

See Guided Learning Hours.

GMB (non teaching union which offers membership to exams officers and other support staff)                          GMB is the trade union for everyone. We have over 620,000 members who work in public services, for private companies, in full and part-time jobs. 

General National Vocational Qualification. Designed for candidates aged 14–16 and post-16 candidates, to provide a broad foundation for training, leading to employment and further and higher education. Replaced by Applied GCSEs and other qualifications.

Good practice
Good practice is something that is considered to be the appropriate target to which all Centres should aspire.

A point on a scale of performance used to record achievement within a qualification (for example, grade A* indicates the highest GCSE achievement on a scale running from A* to G). A new grading system has been introduced in which candidates are awarded a grade from 1 to 9, with 9 being the highest.

Guided Learning Hours
The average amount of contact time that a Centre would typically need to commit to ensure the achievement of a qualification. These are agreed by the awarding organisations in consultation with the regulator and are used, for example by the Learning and Skills Council (LSC), in part to allocate funding.